bootstrap slider

Title with Solid Background Color

周日法會介紹

周日法會介紹

法會是佛教修行中一個重要的部分. 參加各種不同的法會能夠幫助改造我們的身體和心靈.

佛堂舉辦的法會將皈依的弟子和修行者聚集在一起. 和詣融洽的共修能夠集合心的力量和正能源.法會的好處在於: 


    1. 法會能夠滿足人類心靈的需求:尋觅精神支柱和追求完美至高無上的庇護所.


    2. 法會讓我們在祖輩代代傳承的文化,語言和音樂的禮儀中尋根。它讓我們在天上和人間找到自己的歸屬. 

        特別是拜佛,將我們的身體放下, 讓心靈找到平衡點. 


    3. 法會能幫助我們開智慧,讓我們提升到明心見性的境界中.


下面是各種法會的簡介,希望能幫助初學者及新來的佛弟子們更好地了解它們不同的修行用途. 


念佛


上宣下化老和尚在開示念佛法門, 婆心切切地教導我們: 為什麼要念「南無阿彌陀佛」呢?因為阿彌陀佛和十方一切眾生都有大因緣 。阿彌陀佛在因地時,就是他沒有成佛以前,是一 個比丘,名字叫法藏。法 藏比丘發了四十八大願, 每一願都是要度眾生成佛 的;其中有一願是這樣說的:「等我成佛的時候, 所有十方一切眾生,若念我的名號,一定要成佛; 如果他們不成佛,我也不成佛。」


阿彌陀佛這願力,好像吸鐵石那種吸鐵的力量,而十方所有的眾生都好像這一塊鐵,所以把十方的眾生都吸到極樂世界去。如果吸不到呢?阿彌陀佛也不成佛。所以我們一切眾 生,若有稱阿彌陀佛這個名號的,就都有成佛的機會。


《阿彌陀經》是佛不問自說的。為什麼不問自說呢 ?因為沒有人懂這個法門 ,所以就沒有人問;大智舍利弗尊者雖然當機,但是也不知道怎麼樣問。佛可以說是在忍不住之中, 把這個最方便、最直接、 最了當、最省事又省錢的念佛法門告訴大家;只要每一個人能專心念佛,念得「若一日、若二日、若 三日、若四日、若五日、 若六日、若七日,一心不亂,其人臨命終時,阿彌陀佛與諸聖眾現在其前」,就來接引你。


所以這個法門是一般人所不能相信的,可是這卻是最直接、最了當的法門; 念佛法門是三根普被,利鈍兼收,不論你是聰明的 人,或是愚癡的人,一樣都可以成佛。


我們現在念「南無阿彌陀佛」,這就是每一個人造就自己的極樂世界,每一個人莊嚴自己的極樂世界 ,每一個人成就自己的極 樂世界。這個極樂世界並沒有十萬億佛土那麼遠, 這個極樂世界也真是有十 萬億國土那麼遠;雖然有十萬億佛土那麼遠,但也沒有出你我現前這一念的心。因為它沒有出你我現前這一念的心,所以也就沒有十萬億佛土那麼遠, 也就是在我們的心裏面。


這極樂世界就是你我眾生本來的真心,你得到本來的真心,就生在極樂世界;你沒有明白自己本來的真心,就沒有生到極樂世界。阿彌陀佛和我們眾生沒有分彼分此 ,所以我說這個極樂世界並不是那樣遠,我們一念迴光知道本來是佛,本來是佛就是極樂世界。


華嚴精舍在每月的第三個星期日舉辦念佛法會, 先頌《佛說阿彌陀經》 「往生咒」和「彌陀贊」, 再在法師的帶領下, 肯切稱念「南無阿彌陀佛」聖號, 以此來迴向往生西方極樂世界的信願,歡迎諸位佛友參加共修 。

誦地藏經

《地藏菩薩本願經》是中國佛教裏流傳甚廣的一部經典,它是佛門里的一部「孝經」,是釋迦牟尼佛為報母恩,升到忉利天宫,為母親摩耶夫人所說的一部經。而經中的地藏王菩薩更是一位孝順的菩薩,其在因地時曾二次示現女人身,即婆羅門女和光目女,為救亡母,而發廣大誓願,要度盡一切罪苦作惡眾生。以此因緣,古德稱之為「佛門孝經」。  


我佛慈悲臨涅槃前,愍念許多眾生尚未悟道,沉浮於苦海,而無依止,特將吾等閻浮提眾生,殷勤咐囑給地藏王菩薩,「令娑婆世界,至彌勒出世以來眾生,悉使解脫,遇佛授記」,頗有托孤之意。地藏王菩薩受此重託,而發大願「地獄不空,誓不成佛,眾生度盡,方證菩提。」多麼深切的悲願!弘一大師聽此經時,至情流露,潸然淚下,他特別推崇地藏王菩薩,並普勸修淨業者,常誦《地藏經》,依教奉行,以為助行,在倫常道德上切實注意,否則豈僅生西未能,抑亦三塗有份。上宣下化老和尚在講解《地藏經》時開示道:「地藏菩薩和每一個人都有大因緣。我們能誠心常念「南無大願地藏王菩薩」,地藏王菩薩就常在我們心裏,我們也常在地藏王菩薩心裏,心心相印,感應道交,是不可思議的」。  


《地藏經》文字淺顯易懂,講的道理都是因果報應,地獄名相,乍看似乎沒有甚麼玄奧的道理,若因此而生輕忽之心,甚至附會俗論,以為誦《地藏經》只為超度亡魂,慶生弔死,是葬儀的宗教,則未免大法小用,沒用深心去體會。需知「法無高下,應機者妙」,末法時代眾生福薄,根基淺,談玄說妙,眾生難以理解,詳述地獄種種惡趣,令作惡眾生起大佈畏心,而欲出離,同時又講人天妙樂,誘導眾生奔向光明,使其起心動念皆無不善,直至發無上菩提,究竟涅槃為止。連池大師談及《地藏經》的重要性曾言「噫!布帛菽粟,平時不如明珠,凶年則為至寶。救末法之凶年,是經豈可少耶?」, 《地藏經》雖然講的多半是事相,但以事顯理,暗合道妙。自心能造善,也能造惡,思量善事,化為天堂;思量恶事,化為地獄,故知天堂地獄皆是「業感所成所化」。我等衆生,当以地藏菩薩的宏深悲願為依怙,學習地藏菩薩的慈悲智慧,發起大菩提心,以「上求佛道、下化眾生」為己任,方符合《地藏經》「孝道, 度生, 拔苦, 報恩」的宗旨。  


華嚴精舍於每月的第四个星期日舉行地藏法会。大眾在法師的帶领下念誦《地藏經》一部, 然後稱念地藏菩薩的聖号,歡迎諸位佛友參加共修。  

    誦楞嚴咒



上宣下化老和尚在《天地靈 文楞嚴咒》一文中開示我們: 在佛教裡頭,楞嚴咒是最重要的一部咒,是咒中的王, 也是咒裡邊最長的一個咒, 這個咒關係著整個佛教的興衰。楞嚴咒是支援著天地沒有毀滅的靈文,楞嚴咒是支援世界不到末日的靈文。所以我常說,世界上若有一人會唸楞嚴咒,這世界就不會 毀滅,佛法也不會毀滅的。 等到世上沒有人會唸楞嚴咒 時,這個世界就快毀滅了, 因為正法不存在了。  


楞嚴咒有五會,這五會就表示五方,五方就是東、西、 南、北、中。東方就是金剛 部,阿閃佛為教主;南方就是寶生部,寶生佛做教主; 中央就是佛部,釋迦牟尼佛做教主;西方就是蓮華部, 阿彌陀佛做教主;北方叫羯 摩部,成就佛做教主,共有這五部。這五部就是管理這世界五方的五大魔軍,因為有這五魔,所以佛也分開五方,鎮壓這個魔。如果沒有佛,那魔就會出現於世了。 所以你一誦楞嚴咒,這五方的五大魔軍就俯首低頭,老老實實,不敢違犯楞嚴咒的這種威力。  


十方如來就是藉著楞嚴咒, 得成無上正偏知覺。十方如來能應身到微塵數那麼多國 家,去轉法輪教化眾生,在十方給眾生摩頂授記,拔濟眾生的群苦,令眾生一切大小諸橫同時得到解脫,都是憑著這個楞嚴咒心的力量。 楞嚴咒每一句都有無量意義 ,每一義都有無量功能。要明白楞嚴咒是天地間的靈文 ,靈文中的靈文,祕中之祕 ,無上法寶,是一切眾生救 命之寶。我們若能誠心專一 誦持楞嚴咒,就是紹隆佛法 ,就是正法住世。  


華嚴精舍每月的第一個星期日爲楞嚴法會,在法師的帶領下念誦七遍楞嚴咒,抱定不爲自身求安樂,但願一切眾生皆離苦的宗旨,將功德回向給法界所有眾生,祈求世界和平,願衆生同沾法喜 ,皆共成佛道。

site builder

Title with Solid Background Color

CEREMONIES & DHARMA ASSEMBLIES

Brief Overview on Ceremonies & Dharma Assemblies

Ceremonies and dharma assemblies are an integral part of Buddhist  practice.  By participating in the different ceremonies, it helps us to transform our body, mind, and our spirit.  Ceremonies conducted at monasteries and temples are a way for devotees and practitioners to gather and practice together.  Cultivating together in unity and harmony generates great strength and good energy.  Some benefits of ceremonies are: 


    1. Ceremonies satisfy the human spirit’s need to find an anchor, a refuge with a higher and purer vision beyond human imperfection.


    2. Ceremonies put us in touch with our roots, as we take part in a ritual observance that has been handed down for generations,            

        spanning many successive cultures, languages, and musical patterns. They put us where we belong between heaven and earth.

        Bowing, in particular, sets the mind in balance and subdues the body.


    3. Ceremonies can open one’s inherent wisdom, and can lead to an elevated state of clear seeing and keen insight.


Below is a brief overview of the various ceremonies and dharma assemblies to help beginners and new practitioners better understand the different practices. 


Amitabha Buddha Recitation


Before Amitabha Buddha had attained the Buddhahood, he gave up his kingdom and left home to become a bhikshus. For he had mercy for all suffered living beings, he made forty-eight vows to save them. According to the Sutra, Amitabha Buddha already attained the Buddhahood ten kaplas ago and created the Land of Ultimate Bliss in the West; and our fundamental teacher Shakyamuni Buddha once taught us in Sutra: "You should make a vow to be reborn in the Land of Ultimate Bliss."


The founder of DRBA Venerable Master Hsuan Hua once instructed about Amitabha Buddha recitation Dharma door, "The power of Amitabha Buddha attracting people from all over the world to the Land of Ultimate Bliss likes a magnet attracting irons. If Amitabha Buddha could not attract people to the Land of Ultimate Bliss, he would not become a Buddha. Therefore, all of us, calling the name of Amitabha Buddha will have a chance to become Buddha. Let's recite Na Mo Amitabha, to create our own Land of Ultimate Bliss, to accomplish our own Land of Ultimate Bliss, and to sustain our own Land of Ultimate Bliss."


Avatamsaka Vihara holds an Amitabha Buddha Recitation assembly on the third Sunday of every month. During the assembly, we will recite the Sutra of the Buddha's Teaching on Amitabha Buddha, Rebirth Mantra and Praise to Amitabha Buddha. Then we will sincerely recite the holy name of Amitabha Buddha to fulfill our wish to be reborn in the Land of Ultimate Bliss. We would like to welcome all dharma friends to join this assembly and practice dharma together.

EARTH STORE SUTRA RECITATION

The Sutra of Past Vows of Earth Store (Di Zang) Bodhisattva is a very popular sutra in Chinese Buddhism religion. It is known as The Sutra of Filial Piety in Buddhism. Shakyamuni Buddha lectured this sutra for his mother Lady Maya in Trayastrimsha Heaven to repay the kindness for his mother. Within the sutra, Earth Store Bodhisattva manifested as a filial daughter twice, once as a Brahman girl, and again as a girl named Bright Eyes. In both cases, for the sake of saving her mother from the suffering within the hells, she vowed to save all evil sentient beings from suffering within the hells. 


Our compassionate Shakyamuni Buddha, before entering nirvana, concerned with the un-enlightened sentient beings of Yen-Fu-Ti (4) who were still wandering in the suffering sea, entrusted the beings to Earth Store Budhisattva. Shakyamuni Buddha urged Earth Store Bodhisattva (1) until the birth of the Maitreya (Mi-lei) Bodhisattva, to look after the Saha world (2). Liberate them from suffering and obtain vyakarana (3). When Earth Store Bodhisattva was entrusted with such a big responsibility from Buddha, she vowed that, "If the hells are not empty, I will not become Buddha. Until every single living being is taken across, I will not attain enlightenment." What a great compassionate vow! Earth Store Bodhisattva attained his position as one of the greatest Bodhisattvas with the foremost vows. 


The great Venerable master Hong Yi was so touched after listening to the sutra that he wept. He recommended that all cultivators who practice the Pure Land School recite the sutra and practice morality and the ethics of filial piety accordingly. Otherwise not only will we not be born in the Western Pure Land, but we may likely fall into the Three Evil paths. 


In explaining the Earth Sore sutra, the Venerable Master Hsuan Hua said, "There is a deep causational connection between Earth Store Bodhisattva and every sentient being. If we recite 'Namo Great Vows Earth Store Bodhisattva' sincerely and diligently at all times, Earth Store Bodhisattva will stay in our hearts at all times, and we will stay in the Bodhisattva's heart at all times. This spiritual connection is inconceivable." 


The Sutra of Past Vows of Earth Store Bodhisattva is simple and easy to understand. Most of the moral teachings are about "cause and effect." It describes the various kinds of sufferings in the hells. If you read it literally, it does not seem to contain any profound and mystical meaning. If you think this sutra is only useful during funeral ceremonies to liberate spirits condemned to hell, then you are underestimating this Dharma. We must all understand that there are no relative levels in Buddha Dharma. All Dharma methods taught by Buddha can achieve the same result of ultimate enlightenment if you use it wisely, appropriately, and effectively. 


Sentient beings of the Dharma-Ending age possess fewer good roots and virtues. Profound Dharma methods that are difficult to understand will hinder their learning. The Earth Store Bodhisattva sutra describes the horrible sufferings of different kinds of hells to deter them away from committing the sins of hell and describes the happiness of heaven and earth to entice them to cultivate kind acts until reaching the stage of Bodhi. 


The great Venerable master Lan Ci exclaimed while he was talking about the importance of the sutra, "Just as clothing material is not as valuable as a pearl in an ordinary day, these items are treated as treasures during catastrophes, so is the value of the sutra in rescuing sentient beings during the catastrophic Dharma-Ending age. This sutra cannot be omitted." 


Although the majority of The Earth Store Bodhisattva sutra relates incidents, the incidents imply truths in the universe. Our minds can create good and bad karma. When kind thoughts arise in our minds, we are creating heaven. When bad thoughts arise, we are creating hells. We must understand that Heaven and Hell are transformed by our karma which originated from our mind. 

We must follow the deep compassionate vows of the Earth Store Bodhisattva as our model. We must arouse our own inner Bodhi mind, and vow "to attain Buddhahood and to save all sentient beings." This way, we will fulfill the four teachings of the sutra, "filial piety, salvation, liberation from suffering, and repayment of kindness." 


Avatamsaka Vihara holds the Earth Store Assembly every fourth Sunday of each month. Under the guidance of the Dharma Masters, we recite the whole sutra followed by the recitation of the Earth Store Bodhisattva's name. We warmly welcome you to join our assembly. 

SHURANGAMA MANTRA RECITATION

Among the Buddha's teachings, the Shurangama Mantra is considered to be the king of mantras because it is the longest and most important. The flourish or demise of Buddhism rests entirely with the Shurangama Mantra. It is the efficacious phrases of the Shurangama Mantra that keep heaven and earth from being destroyed. It is the efficacious phrases of the Shurangama Mantra that keep the world from coming to an end. That is why I often tell you that as long as a single person can recite the Shurangama Mantra, the world cannot be destroyed, nor can Buddhism. But when there is no longer anyone who can recite the Shurangama Mantra, then very quickly the world will be destroyed, because the Proper Dharma no longer abides. 


The entire title of the Shurangama Mantra is "Great White Canopy of Light Dharani Mantra" (mo he sa dan tuo bo da la tuo lo ni zhou). It is also called "Brilliant Buddha's Crown, Great White Canopy of Light, Unsurpassed Spiritual Mantra." The Buddha's Crown refers to the transformation Buddha atop the Buddha's crown. There is no way to conceive the subtle wonder of the mantra. The content of the Shurangama Mantra subdues heavenly demons and controls externalists. Every line, from beginning to end, is the Buddha' mind-ground Dharma-door. Each line has its own function; each possesses its own esoteric wonder; and each is endowed with incredible power. The recitation of a single word, a single line, a single assembly, or the recitation of the entire mantra causes the heavens to vibrate and the earth to tremble; it's said that heaven and earth are shocked, the ghosts and spirits wail, the demons keep a wide distance, and mountain and river sprites hide away. That brilliance at the Buddha's crown represents the power of the mantra that can dispel every sort of darkness and that enables people to amass all kinds of merit and virtue. If you can accept and uphold the Shurangama Mantra, then you will definitely become a Buddha in the future. You will certainly attain the Unsurpassed Proper and Equal Right Enlightenment. If you continually recite the Shurangama Mantra, then you can get rid of your karmic obstacles from last life and all past lives. That's the incredible function of the Shurangama Mantra! 


This mantra is composed of five assemblies which represent the five directions of east, west, south, north, and center. The east is the vajra division with Akshobhya Buddha as the teaching host. The south is the welling up of jewels division with Welling Up of Jewels Buddha as the teaching host. The center is the Buddha division with Shakyamuni Buddha as the teaching host. The west is the lotus division with Amitabha Buddha as the teaching host. The north is the karma division with Accomplishment Buddha as the teaching host. Altogether these five divisions watch over the five demonic armies that abide in this world. Because of these five demons, the Buddhas split up in five directions to repress these demons. Without the Buddhas, these demons would show themselves here in our world. And so, when you recite the Shurangama Mantra, the five demonic armies in the five directions submit and surrender. They behave themselves and don't dare try to oppose the power of the Shurangama Mantra. 


All Buddhas of the ten directions come forth from the Shurangama Mantra. The Shurangama Mantra is the mother of all Buddhas. It was by means of the Shurangama Mantra that all Buddhas perfected Unsurpassed Proper and Pervasive Enlightened Knowledge. The ability of the Buddhas of the ten directions to create response bodies and go throughout the ten directions turning the Dharma wheel to teach and transform living beings; to rub the crowns of those beings and bestow predictions upon them; to rescue beings from their complex sufferings; to enable beings to escape both large disasters and small calamities--their ability to do all that comes from the power of the Shurangama Mantra Heart. 

Every line of the Shurangama Mantra contains infinite meanings as well as infinite functions. You should realize that the Shurangama Mantra is the most efficacious language in the world--the efficacious within the efficacious, the esoteric within the esoteric! It is an unsurpassed Dharma Treasure--the gem that can save living beings' lives. We should recite and uphold the Shurangama Mantra with single-minded sincerity. By doing so we are helping to perpetuate the Buddha dharma, to keep the Proper Dharma long in the world. 


Avatamsaka Vihara holds an Shurangama Mantra Recitation assembly on the first Sunday of every month. During the assembly, we will recite the Shurangama Mantra seven times and transfer merit to all living beings. We would like to welcome all dharma friends to join this assembly and practice dharma together.