Mobirise Web Site Generator

Transmission of Three Refuges
& Five Precepts

September 23 (Saturday) – Transmission of the 3 Refuges and 5 Precepts will start at 1:00pm.

Universal Bowing will take place at 12:30pm.

Taking refuge: going through a formal ceremony to become a Buddhist. The Triple Jewels or Three Refuges are the Buddha, the Dharma and the Sangha.

Taking the five precepts: to refrain from killing, from stealing, from sexual misconduct, from lying, and from taking intoxicants.

For those who are interested in taking refuge or taking the five precepts, an application form must be filled out and two passport size photos are needed. Application forms with photos can be submitted to Avatamsaka Vihara.

Fee: Taking 3 Refuges ($100) & Taking 5 Precepts ($100).

Download PDF application form

For further info, please contact Avatamsaka Vihara.

Related Articles:

The True Meaning of Taking Refuge (PDF)

The True Meaning of Taking Refuge (audio on Youtube)

The Greatest Thing in Life, Taking Refuge with the Triple Jewel

The Meaning of Taking Refuge Is Beyond Words

Why Should We Receive And Uphold The Five Precepts?